Why motherhood is (and isn’t) worth it

Motherhood is not worth it because of my child’s smiles.  Motherhood is not worth it because of snuggles and books on the couch.  Motherhood is not worth it because of grimy hugs and sloppy kisses after a long day of discipline and messes.

Now, don’t get me wrong, those are all great gifts to be received with thankfulness.  I love it when I come home from a (rare) outing by myself and my two year old runs to greet me with outstretched arms and her biggest smile.

But those things are not the reason I do what I do as a mom.  They are side benefits and blessings along the way.

Motherhood is worth it because investing in a person is worth it.  As Audrey’s mom I have the opportunity (and God-given responsibility) to invest in her life at its most formative stage.

I hope and pray that there will be many people who shape her life for good as she grows into a woman.  But no one else has the opportunity to teach her right from wrong, to know her strengths and weaknesses, and to show her that God loves her like the person who is with her around the clock, day in and day out, week after week when she is figuring out how the world works and ought to work.  In the midst of wiping her nose and feeding her countless cheese quesadillas I believe I am making an impact that will last, good or bad, for the rest of her life.

Motherhood is hard, and there are days where it feels like all I am doing is surviving.

But if I believe that investing in people matters both now and for eternity, I have to believe that being a mom is totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

