Why “So We Remember”

As many of you know, my mother-in-law, Sono, passed away from cancer almost four years ago.  It was just about this time in 2010–right after Alex and I were married– that we first learned she was seriously ill.

Last week, we received an email from my brother-in-law with a spreadsheet Sono had created.  In it were four years of family events, large and small, listed month by month.  It included international trips, speech and debate tournaments, the life–and death–of a precious grandbaby, and even a random event labeled “mattress surfing.”

It was a precious gift, for my husband but also for me, to remember all those family happenings and to know they would not be forgotten.  For while we would normally never think of them on a daily basis, each of them had a role in shaping the people we are today.  They are worth remembering.

The spreadsheet was a perfect example of why I wanted to start “So We Remember.”  I am not good at tracking family memories.  Audrey doesn’t have a baby book (which I deeply regret).  We don’t have family photo albums–yet.

But I don’t want to forget what she looked like and said when she was 27 months old. I don’t want to forget the rhythm of our days in Alex’s second year of law school.  I don’t want to forget what I was thinking as a young mom.

Because these days are shaping who we are, and they are precious gifts that are worth remembering…. so, we remember.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why “So We Remember”

  1. It’s never too late to start being the person you want to be, I think! We don’t have family photo albums or baby books either. I’m just not a scrapbooker. But I always was a journal-writer, and I always like taking pictures. A blog was a good compromise. And now there are people out there holding me accountable and looking forward to honest words and stories. It’s become a beautiful way to remember for me.

    I’m so glad you’re blogging!

Leave a Reply

