It was one of those mornings

I just wanted a little peace and quiet.  But Audrey needed me. She needed a mom to talk to her about why she had to go to time out.  She needed a mom to patiently tell her not to stick her fingers in the yogurt.  She needed a mom to lovingly put her down for a nap with a story and a song.

I didn’t do all of those things with love. But finally, with Audrey asleep and feeling rather run down and exasperated, I began to read 1 Corinthians 13, the assigned chapter in my Bible reading plan.  For the first time, I think, I read it as instructions to a mom.

Love is..

…patient: ooh, boy, I need this!

…kind: am I gentle, compassionate, and empathetic to my daughter?

…does not envy or boast: do I “boast” in my authority as a mom and lord it over her, or do I exercise it for her good?

…not arrogant or rude: do I take the time to understand her little cares and concerns or do I brush them aside?

…does not insist on its own way: do I insist on obedience for things that are just my preferences, but not really important?

…it is not irritable or resentful: when I’m tired, or hungry, or just worn down, do I take it out on her?

…it does not rejoice in wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth: am I truly grieved–not just frustrated– by her wrongdoings?  Do I delight in her choices to do right?

…love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things: do I persevere in kindly “bringing her up in the fear and instruction of the Lord”?

The fact is I often don’t do these things. And I can’t, on my own.  But I have a kind and gracious Savior who always parents me with perfect love and who has promised me His Spirit so that I, too, can walk in the way of love.

Leave a Reply

