Why I Take Classes

I have mentioned before that I am taking a class this semester on the Yalta Conference that helped end World War II.  This is the third course I have taken at the Harvard Extension School over the past year and a half, and I’ve loved it!  I’ve only taken one class each semester, and at this point I’m not planning to complete a degree with Harvard Extension (that’s a post for another day).  A few different factors have influenced my decision to take a class each semester:

It is an intellectual outlet for me.  I am so grateful I get to be a full-time mom to Audrey, but I still love the academic world and, let’s face it, reading “Going to the Zoo” for the four hundredth time doesn’t quite scratch my intellectual itch.  Taking classes is really my (strange) hobby– I’m not a fan of running or scrapbooking but taking a class is something that I love to do.  It gives me a chance to write, think, and converse with other adults. It’s great!

It’s an opportunity to take advantage of being in Cambridge.  The Harvard Extension school features some phenomenal professors.  While I am not trying to get a degree while we’re here in Cambridge (that would be biting off far more than I could chew right now!) I know I will look back and be so glad I took advantage of the academic and intellectual resources while we were here.

It is an investment in my future academic life.  Someday, whether it is five or twenty-five years from now, I would still love to get my PhD and teach at the university level.  Taking some classes that pertain closely to my research interests (Cold War history) is an investment in that future, even if it is a long way off.

If you’re a mom, I would LOVE to hear how you balance your passions and your calling as a mom.  It’s still something we’re very much trying to figure out and I am so grateful for the chance to have taken classes while Alex is in law school.  What do you do on the side to keep your heart, mind, and body active?

4 thoughts on “Why I Take Classes

  1. Courtney, I’m so glad I found your blog. 🙂 I was just thinking the other day how it would be great to take a class at PHC next fall since we’re just ten mins down the road and I can easily take the bus. So you’ve inspired me to look into that. Both my boys will be in school half day so it’s actually possible! Anyway, thanks for sharing this. I completely agree that mommies need something to do besides mothering 24/7. I enjoy creating things, whether it’s baking, sewing, gardening—I enjoy beauty and I need to around me to feel well. So that’s my thing. 🙂 Looking forward to reading more of your writing!! Blessings, Clarice

    • Thanks for your comment, Clarice! I’m afraid I am a failure at gardening and sewing, but I agree with you on baking! It would be so neat if you are able to take a class at PHC next year– keep me posted! I’d love to know what you are learning!

  2. Pingback: How I Take Classes | So We Remember

  3. Pingback: How I Take Classes

Leave a Reply

